Five Minute Friday: Doubt

bridgeovercanyon

It starts as a whisper.

You don’t have it in you. If you ever did, it’s gone now.

That’s not so bad. I can ignore a whisper. I’ll just turn the music up and drown it out. I can do this. It’s who I am, and my calling.

But maybe it’s not. You’re just fooling yourself. You’re writing words that no one will ever read. Why bother?

The voice of doubt gets louder and louder until it’s impossible to ignore. If I’m not careful doubt will blow me right off the path and into an abyss from which I may never escape.

The fact is, I may actually be writing words that no one will ever read, but that’s not the main reason I write. I do it out of obedience to the One who gives me the words, and He doesn’t require me to wax poetic or spill out profundity with every blog post.

I have feelings, doubt included, but they don’t own me.

It’s been a while, but I’m back for Five Minute Friday, where we band together once a week and write on the same one-word prompt for five minutes – no editing and no polishing. Just raw words and community. Join us? http://www.katemotaung.com

19 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Doubt

    • Thanks for stopping by and for your kind words. For some reason when I thought about the direction my post would go in, I pictured a bridge and the way doubt could just blow a person off the bridge.

  1. Thanks for sharing! It’s very tempting to just listen to that whisper. And yes, sometimes we just write for ourselves and no one might read it. Yet it’s worth it. Keep on writing!

  2. “The fact is, I may actually be writing words that no one will ever read, but that’s not the main reason I write. I do it out of obedience to the One who gives me the words, and He doesn’t require me to wax poetic or spill out profundity with every blog post.” Love this. Glad you’re back! FMF42

  3. Great post. I especially love the reminder that the issue isn’t how many people read our words. “The fact is, I may actually be writing words that no one will ever read, but that’s not the main reason I write. I do it out of obedience to the One who gives me the words, and He doesn’t require me to wax poetic or spill out profundity with every blog post.” To that, I say amen!

Leave a Reply

