31 Days, Day 17: Annie’s Song by John Denver

John_Denver_1973

Annie’s Song by John Denver

And now we’re back to the soul-soothing sounds of softer pop music after that little foray into slightly harder rock.

Ah, John Denver.  He wore Harry Potter glasses long before Harry was even a gleam in J.K. Rowling’s eye.  It’s hard to even tell what he looks like behind those glasses and all that hair but he does have a nice smile.

johndenverOh, there he is!  He was a nice looking fellow – reminds me of Steve Irwin a little. The link above is kind of boring to look at but it’s the “official” video.  Here is a live version.  And here is a link to another good JD song, Take Me Home, Country Roads.  I remember singing that one to myself a lot on a 6th grade camping trip to where else?  The mountains.

I don’t think John Denver ever released a song I didn’t like.  I love that he plays guitar and he has a folksy style about him.  I like that he sings a lot about mountains, since I grew up in the foothills of some pretty well-known mountains, but I don’t think he ever sang about MY mountains: The Great Smokies.  I think he has a very warm and comforting voice.  I would say that it’s warm and sweet and rich like maple syrup but I’m pretty sure I’ve used that analogy once this series.

He had a TV special back in 1975, which is when I learned he was born Henry John Deutschendorf, Jr.  Small wonder he changed his name. He also did a lot of work with the Muppets, which totally endeared me to him because I LOVED The Muppet Show.

John wrote Annie’s Song for his then-wife Annie, from whom he was later divorced, and by all reports it was not an amicable split.  I wonder how it felt for him to sing that song in concert after the marriage ended so bitterly.  But the song itself is beautiful and the story is that he wrote it in 10 minutes while riding on a ski lift.

John Denver was an avid skier and outdoorsman, and he made his home in Colorado, where he was involved in environmental causes.  He is yet another one who died too soon.  I’m starting to wonder if I could have done a whole 31 Days on 70s musicians who died at relatively young ages.

7 thoughts on “31 Days, Day 17: Annie’s Song by John Denver

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Sentimental, Silly, Sweet, and Sometimes Sappy 70’s Songs | One Rebel Heart

  2. Love this! My memories of John Denver take me back to my freshman year of college. He did die way too soon and it was so hard to believe that he and Annie had anything but a forever love. I’m old enough now to think, “Ahhh. Young love. ” So, dear Kim, you’ve filled up my head this morning with journeys along country roads and a time long ago. Thanks, they were good times!

  3. My grandmother use to play John Denver songs all the time while I was growing up. It’s because of her that I have a fondness for country music today. Thanks for sharing.

  4. I love John Denver. Take Me Home, Country Roads was my daughter’s favorite lullaby! I saw him in concert right before we lost him in that plane crash…it was a Christmas show and he was brilliant. When he say “Oh, Holy Night” we all cried. I loved him with the Muppets too! This is a great series!

    • Thanks for stopping by! There are so many of the songs that mattered to me – I’m going to run out of days long before I run out of songs! So many talented people left this earth too early, didn’t they?

Leave a Reply

