31 Days, Day 10: Seasons in the Sun by Terry Jacks

Seasons in the Sun by Terry Jacks

I apologize for the lack of photos in this and the next few posts.  I am away from home and using a borrowed computer and totally NOT prepared, so I’m doing well just to get something posted.

This is the quintessential 70s song, isn’t it?  I’m pretty sure if I was on “Name That Tune” I could identify this one by the very first twangy note.  I was so exquisitely anguished by this song, with its sweet and sad goodbyes to 1) his buddy; 2) his Dad; and 3) his little girl Michelle.  I loved it so much that I wrote the lyrics out on a piece of notebook paper (with my Bic Banana markers – I made each line a different color) and glued them to my bedroom wall.  Did I say glued?  Oops.

As far as I know Mr. Jacks never had another hit.  I think it would have been hard to follow up a song that was such a tremendous success as this one.  It’s the first song I remember that would fall into the category of “song burnout” because it was on the radio all. the. time.

Of course now it’s a very sentimental tune for me, taking me instantly back to the swing my yard where I was would swing and sing, and sing and swing, for hours at a time.

One thought on “31 Days, Day 10: Seasons in the Sun by Terry Jacks

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Sentimental, Silly, Sweet, and Sometimes Sappy 70’s Songs | One Rebel Heart

Leave a Reply

