Five Minute Friday: Bloom

I just love this community!  If you don’t already know, there’s an ah-mazing group of writers who link up every week here, at Lisa-Jo Baker’s blog, where we write for five minutes on the same one-word prompt.  It’s real and it’s raw, and you should check it out.

He called me and told me that his boss wanted to see him at 4:30, and it was a Friday afternoon.  My stomach sank like a stone in the river, hard and fast.  I used to be an HR Manager, and I knew what that meant, and it wasn’t a good thing.

I was right and for once in my life, I wasn’t happy about it.  And if I wasn’t happy, well, he was devastated.  So much of a man’s self-worth is wrapped up in their God-given instinct to provide for their families and to have this job jerked out from under him this way, the job that had moved us three hours away from family and friends and all we knew, it knocked us right off balance.

What do you do when it’s Friday night and your world has been turned upside down and you can’t do anything about it?  We decided to rent a movie, one some friends had recommended called “Facing the Giants”.  ANYthing to take our minds off the uncertainty.  Because what were we supposed to do?  We knew God moved us here because His hand was all over the circumstances.  My first instinct was to run back “home” to Tennessee, where we came from.  That’s where my family was, our church, our friends, and we hadn’t been gone even a year yet.

So we watched this movie, and the acting was terrible.  Awful!  But after a while we started paying attention to the message and we didn’t notice the less-than-Oscar-worthy acting.  In one scene, there is a gentleman who regularly comes into the local high school and prays over the students and staff there, walking through the halls and touching each locker.  One day he comes into the office of the school’s football coach, who is facing a similar job crisis to our own and tells the coach that God has a message for him.  In part, the message is this:  Until God moves you, you are to bloom where you are planted. 

We felt that message was meant for us too, and that unless and until God moved us, we needed to stay in South Carolina.  To make a long story short, God provided for us in a very God-like way, and we learned to trust Him more.  Was it easy?  No.  Was it worth it?  Absolutely.

22 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Bloom

  1. Love hearing a part of this story. Thank you for sharing. My husband lost his job five weeks after we were married. Always scary but we are in such a better place now. Love you Kim and so glad we were neighbors tonight!

    • It’s such a scary time but so awesome how He takes what looks devastating to us and uses it to both draw us closer to Him and also to show us that He has something even better in store. Love you too, and I’m so happy to watch the beautiful things God is doing in your life lately.

  2. Yes! Bloom where you’re planted. I’m learning it too, friend. I love that you stuck it out and saw God’s provision and this is proof that God can speak through anything, even cheesy movies. 😉

  3. Yes… I actually love that movie! I am sure I agree with you on the acting but I don’t even really remember it – the message was so powerful, that is what has stuck with me! I love to read testimonies of how God showed up – like only He can! Love you, friend!

  4. In late 2012 I too was facing a job loss and struggled with trusting God to provide but He continually proved Himself over and over to me. (not that He had too) I love hearing more of your story and being able to see God in it all. Thanks for sharing.

    • I know that job loss is something that so many people have dealt with in the past few years. In some ways it’s so scary to place your trust in a God you can’t physically see, and in other ways it’s the most peaceful feeling ever. We may not be able to physically see God but I’ve seen so much evidence of Him to ever doubt His presence in my life.

  5. And now you are a bloomin’ Virginian. I have seen so many of our moves as how we got to the next place. It’s all a journey and every stop is for a reason. Maybe I should listen to myself and start living like that here. Hmmph… Trusting can be hard, but it is always right. Glad you stayed there to come here. 🙂

  6. One of my favorite movies of all time! And the part where she says, “I will still love you!” Yes! To be used where He puts us is a gift. Joining hands with you in learning to live for each moment. Exactly. Where. We. Are. XO

  7. I love how God knows just what we need and just when we need it. Too often, I’m impatient and want things to happen my way (and usually right away). Thank you for the reminder that I need to wait–to let God work in me and not try to be the director.

  8. Wonderful to see how God uses even movies to instill hope in our hearts at just the right time. He is always faithful, and the rain helps the bloom become that much more beautiful. Thanks for sharing with #FMF!

  9. Leavingyour support system in family and friends can be hard. I think the Lord shakes up our lives in that way sometimes, so we can walk deeper in our reliance on Him, deeper in the waters of faith and requires us to dig deeper in Him. Praying you “bloom” in SC.

Leave a Reply

