Five Minute Friday: Release

It feels like years, not weeks, since I’ve participated in Lisa-Jo Baker’s Five Minute Friday, but here I am.  Seriously, it’s a gathering of some of the best writers on the web that you’ve never heard of.  Want to play along?  Find the information you need here.  And now, let’s go!

START

It feels like I’ve been holding my breath.  LIke I wasn’t even aware I was holding it until I let it out.  I’ve been saving up all the worries and dire predictions of doom and gloom, all the private agonies of what might be, holding onto them like lungsful of stale air, and I only just let them go.

Like my concerns about the moving company we chose. 

Like my desperate desire that my children find friends in our new town.  And that I do!

My worries that the kids would react badly, and I mean really temper-tantrum-throwing badly, to the move and I wouldn’t know what to do or say.

And then there are all the smaller ones, like where will I put everything?  And how can I find time to unpack boxes when I’m trying to wrangle kids and get to appointments?

But oh, the sweet release when I just let that breath out.  And strangely, I find that when I’m not holding in all the “old air”, I have space to breathe in something fresh and new.

Excitement for a new adventure and exploring our new area.

Delight in our new house and the potential in it.  I’m determined to make it a home.  (I’ve been reading The Nester’s book and I can’t wait to get started)

And best of all, the confidence of relying on a God who has it ALL in His hands.  He’s got this.  This move was His idea, and He has all the details under control.  No need to hold my breath waiting and worrying.  God’s got it.

STOP

 

12 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Release

  1. Hi Kim. Stopping by from FMF – we’re neighbors there! I know a lot about moving. That excitement of the new and that, well, fear of the new. Definitely a good time to let out that old air, as you said, and release. God does, indeed, have this. And may He make that evident to you and your family in the days ahead.

    • Thanks for stopping by! We had some fun yesterday at an amusement park and I think my kids are adjusting pretty well so far. I know God was behind the move and therefore He’ll handle it all. 🙂

  2. Kim, thank you for your post! Happy to find your blog in FMF. I love the idea of breathing out old air to breath in new air. Keep writing!

  3. Oh, not holding in the old air. Love that and it makes so much sense. How can I make room for the new air when I’m holding on to the old? Great post Kim! Hope all is proceeding well with the move.

    • I’ve noticed a similar theme in some of the FMF posts I read – that you must release the old in order to grab onto something else. We’re moved, but still have a lot of boxes to unpack. We’ll get there. Eventually. 🙂

  4. great post! I passed it on to a friend who is nervous about an upcoming potential move with her family! life throws us into catch your breath moments for sure…release…breathe. have a great weekend!

    • Thanks for passing it on! I wrote some earlier posts about getting ready for the move, and I need to write a few more detailing how it went and how things are going s we settle in. Moving is scary, no doubt, but I’m starting to think that God doesn’t want us to get so comfortable somewhere that we stop seeing both the wonders and the needs around us. Maybe He moves us to shake things up and remind us that we need to rely on Him and not our own knowledge and strength. Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Some 31 years ago I was feeling all those worries just like you. We were moving 2200 miles cross country from TN, my home state, to OR, a place I’d never been. But my husband needed work and work was in OR and it was closer to his family. Additionally, his two children were staying in TN with their mother, and I worried about what he was feeling. Like you, I finally gave over to the excitement of a new home and I know you’ll still worry because I did. But no matter how far you’re going or where you’re going, transition is hard but God will hold your hand all the way! Stopping by from FMF. Thanks for sharing your feelings.

    • Oh, that’s scary, Sherrey! (And I’m originally from Tennessee, by the way) Transition IS hard but it’s a good time to remember that we can rely on God to handle the details. Thanks for coming by!

Leave a Reply

