The Power of Encouragement

I’m moving.  Yeah, I know I talk about it all the time but it’s a big deal to me.  I’m sure you’ll be glad when the move is done, then I can drone on about trying to get adjusted to our new town. 🙂

Moving is hard, in so many ways.  First, there’s the physical aspect of packing and moving an entire household of goods into a new space, figuring out where everything should go.  Then there’s the emotional aspect of leaving what you know and heading out into the unknown, and that’s enough to set anyone on edge.  If there are children involved, you can multiply the emotional stress by twice the number of kids involved, because they stress a lot about movingAnd finally there’s the endless to-do list, which also includes the “lasts”:  last doctor visit, last day of school, last haircut, etc. before we leave.

When we moved here from Knoxville, we had some awesome friends and family who helped us through the process.  They were a physical presence who helped me with the kids, with sorting our belongings and all the detritus that comes with ending life in one town so you can start over in another.  One family even came with us when we moved and helped us put our new house in order.  Pretty awesome, huh?  And then they went home and we were left with telephone calls as our only contact.  (This was before the age of Facebook)  I felt isolated, and I couldn’t remember anymore how people made friends.  That sounds weird, but I had lived in one place for so long, I had kind of forgotten how it’s done.  I started to worry I’d be friendless forever.  I’m not, because God sent me friends at just the right time but there for a while I wondered.  (And now I’m leaving them – augh!)

And now here we are moving again.  But this time it’s a little different.  This time I have a cheering section, and they live in my computer.  I have found an online community that lifts me up in prayer and lifts my spirits when I start to think I can’t do it anymore.  When the fear of the unknown hits, they remind me that God is in this move, and He will provide.  They remind me that I’m going to be just fine, my kids are going to be just fine, and we will get through this.  They tell me that things might even be (gasp!) better for our family in the new place.  Somehow, just at the right time, I hear the sound of encouragement, and it keeps me going.

I cannot overstate the importance of a positive word when it feels like life is overwhelming.  It can be the difference between hope and hopelessness, courage and despair.  A simple “I believe in you” is a lifeline to someone drowning in fear.  The kindness of asking “how are you doing today?” and then listening to the answer is like water to a thirsty soul.  A note in the mail can be just the thing to refresh a weary outlook.

It doesn’t take a long time, and you may never know the importance of your phone call, or email, or card, or just a kind word.  But the other person does, and it matters

 

4 thoughts on “The Power of Encouragement

  1. Thank you for the reminder that the little things count. Sometimes I feel like I need to go all-out or do something extraordinary in order to be an encouragement, but that mindset gets in the way of me doing things. It’s the little things that add up over time! (Visiting from {in}courage.)

  2. Hi Kim! My name is Heather and I have a question about your blog that I was hoping you could answer! If you could email me at Lifesabanquet1(at)gmail(dot)com that would be great 🙂

  3. Hi Kim! I am coming over from the (in)courage group.

    May I just say that your opening paragraph just slayed me? How I laughed! Love that sense of humor. That, and your on-line community will make sure that you make your leap in one piece, with sanity intact. What a beautiful thing that you have found so much support.

    I hope your move will be (gasp) moving you to better things!
    So fun to meet you 🙂
    Ceil

Leave a Reply

