Five Minute Friday: Joy

So I’m waaaay behind, but better late than never, right?

On Fridays, a whole band of brave word warriors write together for five minutes on a single one-word prompt given by our leader, Lisa-Jo Baker here.  It’s fun and freeing, and you should totally try it!  And now, my five minutes on Joy.

There’s this girl who lives in my house.  She’s beautiful and she’s sweet, and she looks nothing like me.  In fact, it’s kind of a family joke that I carried her in my body for nine months and she doesn’t resemble me in the least.  Her hair, eyes, build, coloring – it’s all inherited from some superhuman genes my husband carries around.

But something happens when she opens her mouth to sing.  That’s when I know she is mine.  We share a pure joy in the music that none of the rest of our family does.  There is a soul-deep rapture that occurs in both of us when we raise our voices in song.  I can see it on her face and it makes me wonder if people can see it on my own face.  I hope so, because that kind of joy only comes from the Father and it needs sharing. 

Aaaaand, time’s up.

So, it’s your turn.  What gives you joy?

3 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Joy

  1. Love this one. They are their very own unique people! I love singing and so do my kids. It is amazing to hear them all sing. I am late too, so never feel bad about being a little slow. sometimes we need some time for other good things.

  2. How amazing that God has given you such a wonderful gift in singing. And doesn’t it just make you love God even more that your daughter shares it. How exciting it must be to sing together and feel your hearts rise in the beautiful harmony you create. Keep on writing. The world needs to hear your story. You rock, girlfriend!

Leave a Reply

