Five Minute Friday: Crowd

It’s time to link up with one of the loveliest cheerleading squads on the web – the Five Minute Friday faithful!  Every Friday we write for five refreshing minutes on a one word prompt that we find here.  Come join us! 

There is simply too much to do.  Too.  Much.  Work, school, homework, laundry, making a halfhearted attempt to keep the house fit for human habitation.  Oh yeah, and preparing to move to another state.  Getting our house ready to sell.  Not to mention doing it all while my husband works in another state during the week. 

So I let myself think I don’t have time to read the Bible or pray anything more than breathless whispers as I fall asleep at night.  The Father Who deserves my very best ends up getting my leftovers, and I make excuses for it.

Life crowds in and it crowds out the things that make a difference between existing and really living.  My “to-do” list is greedy and noisy, and it wants all my time and attention.

It doesn’t have to be this way.  I can be honest enough to confess that there are times when I can choose, and I don’t always make the right choices.

And there won’t always be this many demands on my time. Even now things are evolving and I have a day off every week to give me time to get things done without having a nuclear meltdown.  Eventually we will be in our new home and the moving/selling part will be done. 

But there will always be things that grab my attention, that try to turn my eyes away from the One who deserves my devotion, and I have to learn how to keep my focus on the things that really matter.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Crowd

  1. It is difficult to remember to take the time off for God. But the one thing about Him – He is always forgiving and is always there.
    Good luck with your packing
    (Visiting from FMF)

Leave a Reply

