Move: Round 1

We bought a house, y’all.  I knew we were supposed to move this year, and the word “move” showed up as my One Word for 2014, but still.  We bought a house.  Some part of me kept thinking that God would step in and stop us from moving – after all, He’s done that before, several times.  So we kept a watchful eye on the housing market in Virginia and perused the houses that were for sale, pinpointing the school districts we liked (and didn’t), and figuring out what homes were close to my husband’s job.  But there was a part of me that held out hope that it wouldn’t really happen.  Surely God didn’t want us to uproot our kids at the tender ages of 9 and 12.  Surely He didn’t mean for me to be further away from my Tennessee family.  Surely He wouldn’t take us away from the life we’ve built here in South Carolina.  Am I right?

I’ve come to the conclusion that being comfortable is not the ideal situation for a Believer.  When I’m feeling settled and comfortable, it’s easy to believe that I have everything in control.  I forget where all those good gifts come from, and I forget to lean on God.  Being called away from our little nest in SC is going to help us (or at least me) remember that God can use our discomfort to draw us closer to Him.  When I’ve had the supports removed from under my nice calm life, maybe I’ll remember that the only support worthwhile is the Solid Rock.

I know that God is still the same God whether I’m in South Carolina, or Tennessee, or Virginia.  I know that.  I know that He will surround us with the people He wants us to meet.  To be honest, there is one part of me that is eager for the adventure of a new home, a new town, a new state.  I’m looking forward to exploring this new part of the country.  At this point the possibilities seem endless and frankly it’s both freeing and frightening.  Oh, I’ll miss my job, our church, our friends, our kids’ schools – even our kids’ friends!  But I also truly believe that God has a plan in mind for us in our new home.

I won’t go into detail about the dramatic negotiations that led us to the home we’ll be closing on in a couple of weeks.  I will say that the house we bought was not the one we intended to buy.  The house we originally wanted was one we ALL loved, yet it became clear during the purchasing process that it just wasn’t meant to be.  After many prayers of “Your will be done, Lord,” He led us to buy a different house, where all the pieces fell into place (so far!) and we both feel incredible peace about it.

So now I start with the planning, which, as you know, is my very favorite part.  I can make lists like an Olympic gold medalist, but the lists don’t work unless I do.  I’m going to have to eventually make myself stop writing lists and start actually moving and getting things done.  The boxes are not going to pack themselves.

And then the decision of whether we rent out our SC home or try to sell it.  Either way it would require a lot of work to prepare and the thought of it just makes me tired, y’all.  Taaahhhhred!

Please be patient with me, as I’m sure I will be posting all manner of moving updates between now and the real, actual, physical move.  I’m sure I’ll vacillate wildly between happy and sad, and everywhere in between.

Buckle your seat belts, folks.  We’re settling in for a quite a ride.

3 thoughts on “Move: Round 1

Leave a Reply

