Behind the Scenes: The Cast

Image

Truly, I am not sure how this happened.  Two of my three daughters are quite athletic, yet we’ve never had a broken bone in our household.  None of our three kids has ever had a serious illness requiring hospitalization, and I know how blessed we are to be able to say that.  Somehow, though, I’ve managed to raise a couple of hypochondriacs.  When I was a little girl my family didn’t always have health insurance, so I was only taken to the doctor if it was something pretty serious.  I’ve always tried to be a good steward of our health insurance and I don’t take my kids to the doctor’s office for every little sniffle or twinge, but I also don’t wait for them to be completely miserable before seeking medical advice.  That’s one reason I’m so mystified by the two of mine who think every sneeze is an indicator that pneumonia is right around the corner.

This is the arm of my 9 year old gymnast.  No, she is not injured.  This girl uses a pair of crutches as fashion accessories. (I should have added a picture of those.  They are a work of art, covered as they are in printed duct tape.) Lately she has been studying You Tube videos on how to make a realistic looking cast.  She won’t sit still for much of anything else, but she’ll sit on the couch for an hour at a time wrapping and unwrapping her arm/wrist, and begging me for an old sock she can cut up and use as the base of her “cast”.  And then it’s, “Take a picture, Mom!” and next thing you know, here we are with her arm in a fake cast in front of the Christmas tree.  (Those are my festively socked feet you see at the bottom)  She treats it like a hobby or something.  I do have to admire the way she used two colors of wrap to make this one look like a candy cane.  Very creative!

I’m not sure I get the attraction unless it’s just the lure of extra attention, and before you ask, no, I don’t let her wear it to school or out in public.  It’s not like we don’t give her enough attention at home.  I think it may be that she sees other kids with legitimate injuries getting some “cool” points, and she wants in on that action.  And part of it may be that she’s just trying it out to see what it feels like.   Maybe there’s something about being the “baby” of the family that makes her want to be the center of attention.

But I shouldn’t point fingers at my kids.  It’s probably not fair coming from someone who once used a whole bottle of Elmer’s glue and half a roll of paper towels to create an amazingly real looking cast on her finger, all in an effort to generate sympathy after falling off the merry go round at recess.  In my (admittedly dubious) defense, I was also trying to stir up some remorse in the kids who caused me to fall off after I told them to slow down because I was sliding off the seat.  And it worked!  They totally believed the cast was real!  Don’t judge too harshly – I was in third grade at the time.

Anyway.  Apparently the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.  And if she does fall, you can rest assured she’ll be sporting a fancy cast whether she needs it or not.

Today I’m joining up with my friends over at Crystal’s place for Behind the Scenes, a fun link-up where we tell the stories behind the pictures.  Come play with us!

2 thoughts on “Behind the Scenes: The Cast

  1. Too funny!

    Sarah – That was my thought exactly! Wouldn’t it be something if she grew up to be a physical trainer or something else in the health field. Some of my biggest idiosyncrasies only made sense decades later. 🙂

Leave a Reply

