One Word 365 2013: How’d I Do?

This was the first year that I participated in One Word 365, an initiative designed (I think) to direct us away from resolutions that we won’t keep and toward a focus that we choose, either on our own or as directed by God.  My word was Less – an odd choice, but the one that I felt was being impressed upon my heart.  Here is the post I wrote at the beginning of the year and here is the one I wrote in the summer.

So how did I do?  Well, I did find myself doing less in the way of time-consuming activities.  My youngest daughter started the year in two competitive sports and she dropped one of those during the summer, which meant I was doing less driving and spending less time out and about.  I made a conscious effort to spend more time at home and I tried to be aware of my current time commitments before adding any new ones.

I took the word to heart when it came to clutter around the house.  I didn’t completely clear it all out, but I hauled several loads to Goodwill over the year and gave quite a bit to friends.

Image

I also decided to be more conscious of the online commitments I was making, because I have a tendency to hear about a thing (Bible studies, link-ups, new books, Hello Mornings, you name it) and it sounds so cool that I jump right on the bandwagon.  Then I drop off a little while later because I just can’t keep up with all the things.  This year I did less so I was better able to continue what I started.

On a purely superficial note I got a fairly drastic haircut in November, chopping off several inches of my thick hair.  I had been growing it out for a couple of years and while I was a little sad to lose it, I feel so much more like myself with shorter hair.

The verse I kept hearing was John 3:30:  He must become greater; I must become less.  Less of me means more room for Him to work in me and through me.  I can’t say that I perfected the concept of less, but doing One Word 365 this year definitely gave me a head start toward some positive changes inside and out.

One thought on “One Word 365 2013: How’d I Do?

  1. Less is my word for the year…and it begins with clutter in the home. Ugh! Though I can’t say I’m excited about the process, I’ll definitely be glad to get it gone. One of my other areas I’ll be working on is responsibilities outside the home. A little sad to step out of some leadership roles but know that there are other areas that need more of me, like my family. Thanks for this post!

Leave a Reply

