Five Minute Friday:

This?  This is the day I have waited for for over a year.  I’m sitting in a meeting room with 60-something of my closest friends and we are writing Five Minute Friday together.  If it gets any better than this I’m not sure I can handle it. 

So whether you are here at Allume or playing from home, let’s hear your best 5 minutes on the prompt.  You can find it at http://www.lisajobaker.com. 

Her hair stuck straight up from her head.  Her eyes looked off to the side, like she was missing the touch of someone just out of the camera reach.  Maybe she was because I loved her from the first moment I saw her picture.  I wanted to touch her and hold her and I could not.  The idea that my child was waiting for me on the other side of the word broke my heart because her family here already loved her and she did not know it.

It took months of paperwork and questions that felt incredibly intrusive.  It took months of notaries and apostilles and certifications.  It took six long weeks of travel arrangements and 15 long hours on an airplane across the ocean. It took nights in a hotel in a foreign land.  It took hours that felt like days and minutes that felt like hours, but in the space of a moment it happened:  we were together. 

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday:

Leave a Reply

