Day 15: Bookworm Problems

I’m a voracious reader.  According to my mother, I started “reading” around age 2, when I would parrot back to her an entire book, complete with properly timed page turns.

One of the happiest days of my life was the day I got my first library card at the age of 8.  Until then I did not know there was an institution known as the Public Library, where they would let you borrow books for free – as many as 10 books at a time.  I was familiar with the school library and used it often, but this, this was book nirvana.  I still remember the smell of the Blount County Public Library, housed in an old historic home with a spiral staircase that descended to the children’s section.   Smelled like heaven and felt like magic to a book-loving kid.  I usually took the maximum number of books allowed, and I read through all genres.  Back then the library would give each patron a paper “bag” with handles in which to carry and store library books.  I lost count of how many bags I tore because my load was too heavy, or the bags just plain wore out.

It’s been around 40 years since I got that first library card and my reading has slowed down some with the raising of children.  I say some, because I still did quite a bit of reading when they were small, it’s just that the books were simpler, like Dr. Seuss and Rosemary Wells.  I kept hoping that one of my kids would inherit my love of reading but alas, no such luck.

I’ve been known to devour large books at a sitting, to stay up far later than advisable to finish a book, to read while I eat, to carry books in my purse, and to be in the process of reading several books at a time.  Right now I have my place marked in at least three; four if you count the Glorious Grace Bible study guide for #hellomornings, and five if you count my Bible.  And possibly more that I’ve temporarily forgotten about, and then there’s the magazines I keep around for quick reads.  Right now I’m about 2/3 of the way through a book that is set in one of my favorite places:  Edisto Beach, SC.  And there’s a mysterious secret (or two or three) just on the verge of revelation.  And I have the book open right beside the computer while I’m writing this post, waiting to click “save” so I can pick it back up and find out what Helena is hiding…..  All right, I can’t wait another second.  Laters.

One thought on “Day 15: Bookworm Problems

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Procrastination | One Rebel Heart

Leave a Reply

