Five Minute Friday/Day 11: Ordinary

Has it really only been a week since the last Five Minute Friday?  It seems like I’ve lived a lifetime in those seven days.  Anywho, it’s time to come together with my favorite group of brave-hearted writers to write on a one word prompt for five minutes and five minutes only.  No over thinking or editing, just the free flow of words from your heart to the page (or screen).  Want to play?  Check out http://www.lisajobaker.com for all the fine print.

START

I’m just an ordinary girl.  Nothing special about me, really.  I work part-time, I mother full-time, and in between I try to remember to hold onto my individuality.  I don’t have any amazing stories to tell about modern-day miracles in my life.  I don’t have a way with words that makes them leap off the page in a sparkly burst of verbal fireworks.  I just write about my colorless ordinary life on my plain ordinary blog.  Why would anyone want to read about it?  At least, that’s what I think sometimes.

But wait.  Something happens when I surrender my writing to God and stop trying to do it all myself.  He directs me toward certain topics and gives me the words to say.  He imbues my ordinary with His extraordinary.  He shines the light on all the little details of the day that I’ve overlooked.  He points out all the moments that reveal His presence beside me every step of the way and the near disasters He prevented from touching me.  He reminds me that NO mother is ordinary, because we are shaping the next generation.  He tells me that I am perfect just the way He’s made me, and that I’m not to be measuring myself against other flawed humans like myself.  He assures me that I’m not ordinary at all.  What I am is an extremely, amazingly, exceedingly blessed, loved and accepted child of God.

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday/Day 11: Ordinary

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Procrastination | One Rebel Heart

  2. Yes – what He speaks over you, my friend, is Truth! You ARE all those things… “extremely, amazingly, exceedingly blessed, loved and accepted child of God.” Nothing ordinary about that!
    Love you!

  3. “Something happens when I surrender my writing to God and stop trying to do it all myself. He directs me toward certain topics and gives me the words to say. ” This… I love this. Our words are powerful, and extraordinary when He is the one who gives them to us.

  4. I smiled when I saw that the prompt was the word, Ordinary…for some reason, it’s like He’s been whispering that to me for weeks, and I’m just now starting to listen. As He reveals purpose and calling, ordinary is what jumps out at me. He’s asking me to be me…who He’s created and who He’s called. I have such a tendency to want the crazy and wild of life, but I’m learning that there’s such beauty in the simple, wonderful moments that scatter my days. Thank you, friend, for these anything-but-ordinary words. Blessings today. 🙂

Leave a Reply

