Day 10: Moving Details

I’m going to let you in on a little known secret:  my family is moving to another state.  My husband just accepted a position about 6 hours from here, and we will need to relocate.  Luckily the move itself isn’t happening until school is out for the summer, or the state I’d be in right now would be the state of panic.  My poor husband will be spending a lot of time in his car for the next few months though.

You might think that a move that is 8 months out shouldn’t cause much distraction for me, but you’d be wrong.  There are a myriad of details that need to be considered, like schools, neighborhoods, churches, and extracurriculars for the kids.  There are hours and hours of searching real estate online to do in order to see what we like and more importantly, can afford.  And I’ve got to set aside some time every day to worry that my kids (and their parents!) won’t be able to find new friends/no one will like them/their lives will be ruined, etc.  There is time to be spent lamenting the loss of the familiar while at the same time trying to accentuate the positives for the kids.  And can we just talk about how much stuff this family has accumulated that needs to be ruthlessly reduced?  No, let’s not.  Just the mere thought is exhausting.  I need a nap.

So, yeah, there’s much work to do.  Does it all have to be done right now?  Well, no.  We already know that the purchase of a home will need to wait until the spring.  The ruthless reduction of our possessions can be done in manageable bites between now and then.  Frankly, the whole idea of moving is just so overwhelming that I hardly know where to start.  I may just have to work through it by blogging about it.  Wait.  What just happened there?

Leave a Reply

