Day 9: Planning Paralysis

I’m a big fan of planning.  I think it’s necessary to know where you’re going before you start.  Except for the times I’d rather just figure it out as I go.  There are many, many times that I fly by the seat of my pants, mostly due to impatience.  I mean, sometimes you have to stop dithering and start doing, right?  But planning is important.

Oh, who I am kidding?  You know where planning really fits in to my blogging life?  When I don’t want to actually sit down and write, that’s where.  I know I need to do a better job of planning my posts, writing in advance and scheduling them so I don’t find myself, oh, writing 31 days of posts day by day.  That sounds familiar.  In fact, I’ve already thought of a fantastic 31 Days topic for next year and part of my brain is telling me that I need to stop writing this post/series and get busy planning for next year.  I clearly have a serious lack of follow-through.

I have acquired some lovely tools to help me in crafting a vision and purpose for my blog and a path to get it there.  I have lots of colored pens to use in writing out blog ideas.  Sadly, what I find myself using them for is to delay the actual writing.  I will tell myself that as soon as I figure out my blog goals for the next year, then I will start writing them.  But I can’t start until I get all my plans all laid out.  That is one way to make sure that I don’t get anything done, because I’ll never get it exactly right.

One thought on “Day 9: Planning Paralysis

  1. This had some resonance for me too. At times planning and development seriously hinders my writing progress. I like to plan out my writing, sorting out characters, plot etc etc before I start. On occasions, I’ve done so much background work (months and months of it!) on a story, I’ve got bored with the story. I learnt to deal with it my limiting my planning time. After an initial planning frenzy (when I start a new piece of work), I allow myself 15 minutes of planning for each hour of writing and extra time when I’ve clocked 7 hours of actual writing time. It has tripled my writing output, and I have found that often ‘just writing’ helps me solve the development problems that I would have once spent hours pondering over.

Leave a Reply

