Day 5: Dithering

Image

Here’s another reason I can’t get any writing done:  I’m still dithering around about changing to a self-hosted blog.  Right now, as you have no doubt noticed, I am using a WordPress.com blog.  I’ve heard from those who know these things that a self-hosted blog is the way to go.  You own your content and you don’t have to worry about an online entity changing their policy and basically erasing your entire blogging “life”.  But….but….I’m just not sure I’m ready to spend the money. 

Who am I kidding?  I actually bought a domain name almost a year ago.  I just haven’t ever done anything with it.  To be honest I really didn’t know what to do with it, until recently when someone directed me to Bluehost.    And then I had to decide if I wanted to use my “blog” name as my domain (that’s the one I already bought) or set it up under my real name or some portion thereof.  And I had to debate all the ins and outs of each choice and see what was available.  You get where I’m going with this, right?  Why bother to write in my current blog if I’m just going to switch to a new one? (Because I am.  I just signed up with Bluehose tonight and I’m simultaneously sick and thrilled!)

I don’t have a good answer to that question except that I’ve heard I can migrate my content from one blog to the other.  Meanwhile, I don’t need to let some future change prevent me from doing what I’m supposed to be doing in the now.

Leave a Reply

