Five Minute Friday/Day 3: Write

Well, here we are, my favorite writing time of the week:  Five Minute Friday.  It’s that time when hundreds of writers all over the place join together to write like word warriors for just five minutes from the same one-word prompt.  Not only that, I am three days into my 31 Days challenge:  31 Days of Procrastination.  The challenge tonight?  Tying my FMF post and my 31 Days post together.  Here we go!

I wish I knew a way to turn off my inner critic.  You know, the one who says I can’t write?  The one who says that no one is interested in what I have to say?  The one that reminds me that the number of followers I have is far less than so-and-so?  I sit down at my computer with what feels like a great idea for a post and that hateful voice starts to whisper in my ear, and the joy of writing just evaporates. 

The thing is, I don’t write to gain an audience.  I don’t write to win awards, or to get compliments or accolades, or even followers. (although they’re wonderful, don’t get me wrong!)  I write simply because God has given me a voice, and He’s given me a story, and I believe He’s told me to share it.  He didn’t say it had to be eloquent or publish-worthy.  Just that I need to be bold enough to share what He’s done in my life and how He’s carried me through the hard times and loved me through the good times.

So what’s the best way to get around that roadblock?  I think my best bet is to believe what God has said about me, and that is that I’m ENOUGH, just the way I am.  I don’t have to compare myself to other writers because I’m not created to be them, I was created to be me and I was given a unique story to share.  And so were you.

 

13 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday/Day 3: Write

  1. Kim, I love coming over here to visit with you and read your post. Your words are always so real and honest. I feel like I am sitting down with a friend and just sharing life. Keep sharing your words because you do have a story to share and there are people that need to hear it.

  2. Oh, how I understand not being able to turn off the inner critic. But yes, you are right, our identity and where it is centered will not change…even while our job title may. 😉 And that is what we can base hope in.

  3. Oh how the enemy is so consistent in how he lies… I think we all hear those things… and fear those things… and fight off comparison and the temptation to just give up! I am so glad you don’t… we don’t… we press through and write on!

Leave a Reply

