Five Minute Friday: She

It’s that time again!  Time to link up with some of the bravest people I know – writers – and write freely for five minutes on a one word prompt given by our fearless leader, Lisa-Jo.  Want to play along?  Visit http://www.lisajobaker.com for all the fine print.

What is it about that face?  Those big, beautiful blue eyes.  The shy smile that reveals a glint of metal on her teeth, in the process of making her even more perfect, as if such a thing were possible.   The face we first saw through the miracle of an ultrasound screen, a 3D image that was so clear, when she was born we felt we had already met. 

She steps through life to the beat of a different drummer, so different it sometimes seems she must be off the beat.  Oh, she might not be hearing the same rhythm you’re hearing but rest assured that she’s in time with her own music. I love this about her, that she’s not afraid to be who God made her to be.  She doesn’t let the world push her around into some cookie cutter version of what they think a teen girl should be.

I love the look of concentration on her face when she’s working out a math problem, and I love the dreamy look on her face when she’s writing a story or composing a song.

She’s growing into a young lady and I try to capture these images, these moments, so I can pull them out one day when these days are long gone and I sit on the porch in a rocking chair.   What she is, is amazing.  And she’s mine, God’s gift to me.  My miracle baby.

11 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: She

  1. Hi Kim, I loved reading this- largely because that marching-to-the-beat-of-her-own-drum thing? That was me at that age. And the braces. And the not-letting-the-world-push-her-into-some-cookie-cutter-version… Yeah. I so identify. I love that you SEE these things about your daughter, that you SEE her heart. This will give her permission at a deep level to continue being who she knows she is before the Lord.

    So. good. I’m really moved by your heart for her, mama.

Leave a Reply

