Five Minute Friday: Worship

This morning I’m joining Lisa-Jo and some of the bravest writers on the web to write freely for five minutes:  no editing, no overthinking.  Then we all gather at Lisa-Jo’s place (or today, the (in)courage site) to share our words and our love.  Want to play?  Go here for all the details: http://www.incourage.me/2013/08/a-five-minute-friday-free-write-on-the-word-worship.html.

START

If you had asked me 10 years ago what worship was, I would have given you the classic answers involving church, music, and a congregation coming together to sing the old hymns.  I might have even expanded that definition to include gazing at the ocean in wonder, or marveling at the exquisiteness that is a newborn baby. 

I thought that there was a certain time, or place, or set of circumstances needed for worship to take place. 

If you had told me that the things I did all day as a Mama could be worship, I probably would have laughed in your face.  And yet, with the years comes wisdom (sometimes, at least) and a subtle change in the way I view my life.

God’s Word tells us this:  “Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship.” Romans 12:1

What if we considered all those “little” things we do in the course of our daily lives as worship?  I think they are, if we are approaching them that way.  If you incline your heart toward worship, they are.  I love the word picture I get when I think about inclining my heart toward worshiping our Heavenly Father.  Bowing down, leaning into Him, every day as I go about my business.  Keeping my eyes on Him and considering every decision in light of eternity.

All those endless nights desperately trying to comfort a crying baby?  Worship.

Sitting in the car line?  Worship.

Driving the Mom taxi.  Packing lunch after lunch after lunch.  Washing the dishes again.  Cooling the fever.  Helping with homework.  Reading stories.  You name it.  It’s all worship, when it’s done with the right heart attitude.

STOP

True confession:  I had a phone call in the middle of writing this so I probably wrote longer than 5 minutes.  Grace, friends.  🙂

3 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Worship

  1. I just love your heart, friend! And I love that so many of us wrote on Worship in the richest, broadest, most intimate form… of how we live it out and lay it down and give it over in our daily lives! Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

