Behind the Scenes: Baby “Selfies”

Image

Look at that sweet little face!  Couldn’t you just eat her up?  She’s deep in thought and concentrating hard.  That’s because she’s holding Nana’s iPhone in her hand and taking pictures of herself and she’s trying to decide which is her best side.  For the record, according to Nana, it’s all of them.

I have three daughters, and the oldest one has seen fit to give me this new name of Nana.  I love my little granddaughter more than I thought possible, and what they say about grandchildren being a reward for letting your children live?  It’s totally true!  And although I didn’t/don’t spoil my kids too much as they grow up, there’s something about this adorable cherub that makes me want to give her whatever she wants.  Within reason, of course.

What most likely happened just before this picture was taken:  She was fussy or bored and saw me looking at my phone.  She then wanted to play with my phone, so I simply handed it to her.  No doubt my daughter (her mother) rolled her eyes watching the scene play out.  I don’t even have to open the camera app for baby girl – she can do it herself, but I do have to flip the camera to face her so instead of random floor pictures I get these little gems.

Every so often I go through the pictures on my phone and delete the ones I don’t want to keep, but I always keep some of these on the phone.  See, this amazing baby girl lives seven hours away from me and I don’t get to see her nearly as often as I’d like.  So I keep the “selfies” she takes with my phone’s camera as a reminder of that piece of my heart that’s out there walking around, hundreds of miles from me, and I count the days til I can see her again.  It’s never soon enough.

Today I’m linking up with the crew over at http://www.crystalstine.me for Behind the Scenes, where we tell the stories behind all those Pin-worthy images.  Come on over and join us!

8 thoughts on “Behind the Scenes: Baby “Selfies”

  1. I love this! I have about 20 pictures that my granddaughter took on my daughter’s phone unbeknownst to anyone. Imagine my daughter’s surprise when she found them. We laughed till the tears rolled when we saw them. There is nothing like the excitement that these little ones bring to our lives.
    So Nana, from this Mimi – enjoy every moment :)) So glad that I visited you today from Behind The Scenes!

  2. So sweet! My son loves to take selfies on the iPhone and iPad. He now knows to make faces, so his pics have gotten more entertaining, and sometimes you don’t know he had your camera until you find them randomly 😉 Happy Tuesday, friend!

Leave a Reply

