12 in 12: The Beginning

newbornpic

It’s my birthday!  No, really.  It is.   See that new little face up there?  She looks a bit surprised, doesn’t she?  I don’t think I’ve ever quite been able to shake that wide-eyed surprise about the some of the places and situations I find myself in.

Last year for my birthday, I gave myself this very blog as a gift, so in addition to it being my birthday, it’s my blogiversary!  The usual thing to do on a blogiversary is to host a giveaway, but I’m on vacation and unprepared for that, so maybe I can do it in a couple of weeks.  Don’t give up on me.  I may get there yet.

I never thought I was the kind who would be vain about aging but it’s becoming quite clear that I am.  I have a birthday coming up exactly twelve months from today that carries a pretty significant number with it.  I can’t even say it out loud right now, that’s how much I dread it.  It makes me feel old.

So I’ve decided to have a little fun with the last year of my 40’s (yes, I said it, so now you know how old I really am today), otherwise I may spend an entire year dreading my next birthday.  Recently I realized just how much time I’ve spent over my lifetime saying, “I’d like to do that someday” or worse, “I’ve never tried that.”  The world is full of rich and varied experiences, so this year I’m going to do some of those things I’ve been putting off.  Because as you know, we’re not promised tomorrow.  My biological father died the day after he reached that milestone birthday and while I don’t think that’s likely to happen to me because my health is decidedly better than his was, I’m all too aware of the fleeting nature of this life.

I had this brilliant idea that it would be fun to try 12 new things in the 12 months between this birthday and that horrifying (mid-century) next one.  I’m calling it my “12 in 12”.  Don’t get too excited – I’m not going skydiving or bungee jumping, but I am choosing a few things that require me to get outside my comfort zone.  I’m hoping that going outside of my “safe” zone for these fun things might inspire me to stretch my wings in some other ways as well.

Some of my 12 in 12 activities are kind of cheesy, and some are so elementary you might have trouble believing it’s something I’ve never done before, but trust me – they’re all new to me.  Sushi?  Never tried it because I don’t like seafood. Sing karaoke in public?  Nope.  Read a book by Jane Austen?  No, and that’s kind of embarrassing because I’m such a voracious reader.  How did I miss out on her??

You are invited to follow along on my 12 in 12 journey because I’ll be blogging here once a month about my experiences.  And just in case there is anyone else still out there who has missed out on some of the same things, I’ll let you know if it’s all it’s cracked up to be.  Some of the 12 are already planned (first time at a blogging conference – Allume conference in October), some I’ll pick off my list (yes, I have a list), some include family or friends, some are just for me.  Sometimes I may ask for input before I choose my new experience for the month.

So stay tuned for my first adventure in September!  I think I know what I want to do, but I haven’t made a firm decision yet.

And if you have any thoughts or suggestions, I’ll be glad to read them.  Once again, I have zero intention of bungee jumping or skydiving, and I don’t have thousands of dollars to spend on a trip to, say, Australia (though I’d love to go there!).  My kids need me to be around to raise them, and I need to be able to afford to do that. 🙂

Thanks for coming along on the journey!

3 thoughts on “12 in 12: The Beginning

  1. Happy belated birthday friend!! I love this 12 and 12 idea. Let me tell ya, my husband might be one if the pickiest eaters in the world and ventured out a few years ago to try sushi…and now it’s one of his all time favorites! I h e not read anything by Jane Austen either. Looking forward to following along with your 12 and 12 (wish I was meeting all you lovely ladies at Allume this year!)

Leave a Reply

