Five Minute Friday: Story

Today I’m taking my children to Six Flags for the day, but first I’m taking 5 minutes or so to write from the heart and link up with the brave writers at http://www.lisajobaker.com.  If you want to play along, check it out.  We love to meet new friends!

When I was little I thought “telling a story” was a bad thing.  That’s what my mother and other relatives to mean you were lying, or making something up.  It was a way to dismiss what the other person was saying without giving it any credence whatsoever.

As I’ve grown older (notice I didn’t say grown “up”) I’ve come to realize that there are all kinds of stories, and they’re not all lies.

There’s the story of how God created the world in 6 days and then rested.

The story of Adam and Eve, and the fall of man into a whirlwind of sin that we’re still wrestling with today.

The story of Noah and the ark, and how God used one ordinary man to save the world from a extinction by a flood.

The story of how Abraham and Sarah were blessed with a child in their old age, and how Abraham was obedient to God even to the point of being willing to sacrifice that only child and heir.

I could go on and on.  Throughout the Old and New Testament are stories of ordinary people and how God worked in and through them.

That hasn’t stopped.  God still works in and through people today.

Every single one of us has a unique story.  I do.  You do.  Even the grumpy cashier at the store has one.

 Some of us write here on these blogs to tell our stories of how God has changed us, how He has saved us.

So often we think so one wants to hear what we have to say.  But people need to hear it. 

They need to hear your story of hope and redemption.

The story of how you were lost and then you were found.

The story of how you were blind and now you can see.

Never stop telling that story. 

I need to hear it.

The world needs to hear it.

8 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Story

  1. Exactly. I was encouraged by your thoughts about story. I definitely need to hear God’s stories in Scripture again and again. I am thankful that through places like this I can hear even more of God’s working in the life of the people of today. And I can also reflect on the story He wants to tell through my life.

  2. The world DOES need those stories, and every one of them is worth telling. Thank you for this amazing reminder, friend. Blessings and hugs…hope your weekend was wonderful! 🙂

  3. “So often we think so one wants to hear what we have to say.” This is where I have been lately. Just wondering if anyone cares to hear my rambling but then I realize, “But people need to hear it. ” and many times the one that needs to hear all He has done in my life is me.

Leave a Reply

