Five Minute Friday: Broken

It’s time once again to write wild and free with www.lisajobaker.com and the Five Minute Friday crowd. 

Broken.  It’s how I felt that chilly day in October 1991 when a man who once promised to love me until death do us part walked away without a backward glance.

It’s how I felt the first time a life barely begun slipped away from us.  And the second time, and the third awful time.  Broken.

I don’t like that feeling because I like to be in control.  In control of my emotions, my plans, my LIFE, and that brokenness of my spirit reminds me that I am absolutely not in control. 

We are all broken people, whether we let it show or not.  I believe that there is strength to be found in the admitting of it.  We are all broken and we need a Healer.  When we are weak, then He is strong, for His strength is made perfect in our weakness. (2 Corinthians 12:9) 

God’s grace is most evident in my life during the broken times.  Perhaps it’s true that we are stronger in the broken places, because it’s then that we are relying on His power instead of our own.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Broken

  1. May He continue to bring beauty into your life, friend…even in the most broken times. These are beautiful words…thank you for this. Happy Friday to you…and lots of hugs, too. Thank you for the blessing you are to me! 🙂

  2. Absolutely, my friend! When we are brought to our knees in our brokenness, surrendering control we never really had, and in total reliance on the only One who can rescue us from the depths of our despair…it is then that we can truly be healed and experience Him fully. Happy Friday and blessings to you!!

  3. So true friend! His strength is shown in our weakness! I have seen it over and over again in my sister’s life and my whole family this month in the way-too-soon-death of my niece and I see it in my daily struggles as well!

Leave a Reply

