Five Minute Friday: Present

It’s time again to join up with my tribe, my people, to write freely for five minutes on a prompt given to us by the lovely and talented http://www.lisajobaker.com.  If you want to play along, we always welcome new friends!  And…away we go!

You see it everywhere.  Children have always known a million ways to get a parent’s attention, and they’ll take whatever they can get whether it’s positive or negative.  But today’s children have so much more competition it’s almost unfair.  And smartphones?  Sometimes I think they’re the best thing since sliced bread and sometimes I think they’re an instrument of the devil.  How can a child compete with a device that can connect you with an infinite stream of information?

For me personally, even aside from the siren call of electronics, the demands on my attention are endless.  We’re trying to make some decisions about one child’s extracurricular activities.  And the swirl of questions in my mind: What school is best for K?  Do I want to go back to work?  What will it be like when I do?  Am I doing the best I can for my family?  Is God pleased with me?  Do we want to sell our house and move?  Does my husband need to find a different job?  And so on.  Or I stew about my past.  Did I say the wrong thing to her?  I wish I’d finished college.  What if I hadn’t married so young?   

Meanwhile, there’s this:  “Mommy, look!”  “Mom, watch this!”  So I make myself put down the phone and shut off the tempest in my mind. I close my eyes, take a deep breath and I surround myself with the present.  I feel the couch cushions under my legs.  I hear the soft sigh of the ceiling fan.  And I feel the warmth of my girls as they collapse on the couch beside me. I breath in the scent of sun-washed hair combined with fruity popsicle breath, and my heart says, “I’m here and this is the perfect place to be right now.” 

Be still and know that I am God.  Psalms 46:10

7 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Present

  1. I agree – the present moment when you feel your child in your arms is the best place to be. I look back in the past and never for one moment regret the decision we made for me to stay home instead of working. So enjoy the time spent with your girls – their love and joy can only be a gift to you.

  2. I just wish I could figure out how to turn off the tempest… dang it – that’s my struggle! (That and the devil of the smartphone… I love it, and I hate it… and I hate my tie to it… )

  3. Yes! How often are we pulled in so many directions, eyes focused on the next thing, our minds and hearts far away. God is always gently reminding us to slow down and savor the moment, experience the goodness of the present. Nice!!

  4. Ah yes – that just SOUNDS like the perfect place to be! (I was just there, myself – actually!)

    I remember when my girlie was little – and she would (even pre-smart phone and internet connections) try to get my multi-tasker hearts’ undivided attention – she would say, “Mommy – listen to me with your EYES!” (and – well, how can you say no to THAT?)

Leave a Reply

