Five Minute Friday: In Between

This morning I’m joining with a wildly creative crew of writers (yes, I said it.  I’m a writer.) for our regular Friday morning date over at Lisa-Jo’s place:  www.lisajobaker.com.  This is where we are set free to write on a one-word (or, apparently, two-word) prompt for five minutes – no over editing, no backtracking, no perfectionism allowed.  And then, the best part.  You get to go visit all the other amazing blogs out there and leave them some love.  Because that’s what makes the world go round.  (forgive me, I haven’t yet had my coffee)

START

I know some people consider in between to be a scary place, full of the unknown and unpredictable.  It can be.  When you’re in between jobs, or homes, or safe places, it’s a place full of worry and uncertainty.  I’ve been there.  Between jobs.  Between houses.  Between marriages.  For a control freak like me, not knowing what the future holds can be incredibly humbling and frustrating, all at once.

So instead, I choose to look at the in between as thrilling.  It’s a place of possibilities.  There is freedom in the in between.  You’re not tethered to one thing or the other, and you’re not limited by one or the other.  I dislike driving long distances but I enjoy the journey, if that makes any sense.  The newness of the scenery, the novelty of the road signs, the fascinating shops along the way.  If you choose to see it as an adventure, suddenly a long drive is anything but boring.  And if you’re in between you can always choose a different route if necessary.  There’s more than one way to get to where you’re going.   If you don’t like the road you’re driving, take a detour.

You and I are a different kind of in between, every single day of our lives.  As Petra sang, “We are strangers, we are aliens.  We are not of this world.”  We’re between two worlds.  We’ve living our lives on this Earth, but we don’t belong here and we’re not supposed to get too comfortable here.  That’s because our true home is in heaven although we’re not there yet.  It’s being prepared, we’re storing up our treasures there, but it’s not time for us to arrive.  And there is tremendous freedom and possibility here in the in between.

“Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.”  Romans 12:2

STOP

And now I am going to spend some time reading the lovely words of my fellow FMF writers.  And drink my coffee.

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: In Between

  1. Thank you for writing for FMF today! I appreciate your take on “in between.” I had not thought of the freedom and adventure of those seasons, as I tend to not like change so much. Since change is inevitable, learning to enjoy the freedom and see change as an adventure would be super beneficial.
    And thank you for Romans 12:2. A great verse to start the day with!

  2. Ah yes… yes to coffee (of which somehow I have had NONE yet?) What the what? I love this… love the reminder that Heaven is our home and all of this – blessed All Of It – is the In Between!

  3. ” .. if you’re in between you can always choose a different route if necessary. There’s more than one way to get to where you’re going. If you don’t like the road you’re driving, take a detour.”

    This was my favorite part! I got all giddy and excited because i like different. i like change (there i admitted it!). i think its alright actually. its exciting taking detours. a new avenue, road, route, street, block, or walkway. and detours are unexpected and VERY nice. And God is not about being conventional. he’s about what works for Him. whatever route he chooses. thats exciting!

    Thank you for this! Have a GREAT weekend fills with “God detours” 😉

  4. Great post…thank you for this. We’re in the middle of learning to settle down right now. It’s not easy…our nomad hearts feel ready for whatever’s next, and yet, God has said Stay. He is truly teaching us that, often, the in between is life and we need to live it well. 🙂 Blessings, friend!

Leave a Reply

