Fall

It’s Friday!  Know what that means?  Time for Five Minute Friday with http://www.lisajobaker.com, where a brave group of writers come together every week to write freely and without overthinking.  Come on over and play with us!

START

Image

I loved watching my girls learn to walk.  They’d toddle forward, stop and weave like a drunken sailor, then fall right on their well-padded behinds.  Sometimes they’d cry from the shock of falling, but then they’d stand back up and take off again.  Something inside them drove them to keep trying until they got it right.  They felt no fear of falling or embarrassment when they fell, just the urge to get up and keep going.

I hate falling.  I do.  I am a closet perfectionist, although probably not closeted as much as I think I am.  I don’t like being “not good” at anything.  If I do it, I want to do it spectacularly, every time.  And if I fall, well, it’s embarrassing.  A hard physical fall is bad enough, but I’m quite good at laughing at myself and I think I could recover from that well enough.

But a person can have a spiritual fall.  We believers stumble and fall all the time but people don’t always see us do it.  We can be walking around smiling and happy like nothing is wrong while inside we’re nursing scrapes and bruises that no bandages can cover.  There’s only one way to get over a spiritual fall and that’s to get back up and keep walking.  Start again.  Ask forgiveness.  Pray.  There are no perfect people and the sooner we believe that and stop trying to look and act like we’re perfect, the more we realize we need His grace to get through this life.  I’m going to do wrong things and I’m going to sin, and while that’s not an excuse to live a sloppy spiritual life, it’s just a fact of life that I’m going to fall and I’m going to need His grace to get back up on my feet again.

STOP

7 thoughts on “Fall

  1. Love this! It’s so true that we fall spiritually all the time, and it is God’s grace as well as the grace of our fellow believers that allows us to get up from these falls stronger than before.

  2. Oh thank Jesus, just thank Jesus for His grace… without it we would still be on the ground nursing our scrapes and bruises. Thank you friend.

    PS – Love the chubby feet in the picture. Adorable!

  3. Oh how thankful I am for His grace and forgiveness as we work through the process of a fall, getting up, dusting off and beginning again. (I, too love those chubby feet)

  4. I can so relate to this. I want to run and hide if someone should ever see me fall, spiritually or not. I know better now. I love your fabulous perspective on this. Glad I found you via FMF. And I also agree with comments above. Adorable chubby feet! 🙂

  5. I am so thankful that God is there, ready to catch me, when I fall. It’s not a matter of if, but when. Love the purple nail polish on those chubby feet! So cute!

  6. Amen. Thank God for God, Thank God for second chances, Thank God for His unfailing and relentless love for us:)! And thank you for sharing… I love the pic:) Cute feet!

Leave a Reply

