Happy Communiversary!

Several months ago, around Christmas, I was looking for a Bible study related to Advent so I did some searching on YouVersion for an easy to follow plan.  I had already tried (and failed) at quite a few reading plans, most of which were pretty ambitious for someone like me who enjoys variety and gets bored by the same old, same old all the time.  I figured Advent had a prescribed time period so maybe I could commit to something short term.  She Reads Truth came up in my search so I decided to give it a try.  And I’ve never looked back.

The need for a believer to be in the Word daily cannot be overstated and I know this, but I’ve never been able to develop a consistent reading system that would not feel like a task to be checked off my to-do list.  Until now. 

I love that it’s not a study based on some modern-day book written by a human author, it’s a study of THE Book. 

Now, I admit that when I saw Hosea come up as our next study, it gave me pause.  All I knew about Hosea was that it was a story about how God told Hosea to take a prostitute (Gomer) for his wife and to forgive her when she strayed/ran away and keep bringing her back home, and that this was a metaphor for the God’s people and how we stray.  Well.  There is so much more to the story!  And then there was Nehemiah.  Again, I wasn’t sure what I was going to get out of it, but again I was pleasantly surprised at what God showed me through a book I had barely even touched on before. 

It was on Day 2 when I read that “Nehemiah was an ordinary servant who would do extraordinary things, but he did them by moving with God.  Not running ahead but walking beside.”  And then I read about how God can use even us because it’s not about us, it’s about Him.  That was powerful to me because I’ve been struggling with what to do about this blog.  I love writing it, and I’ve found a beautiful community of writers online to “hang out” with, but some days I wonder if I’m doing anything worthwhile.  I do feel God called me to write it and I’m supposed to write and let Him worry about the rest but there are still those days when I wonder if anyone would notice if I stopped writing.  After that devotional, I started to feel like this is my portion of the wall and I don’t have to build the whole thing by myself, just do my best on the part I’m responsible for.  And then I read the devotional on Nehemiah 6:3:  I am carrying on a great project and cannot go down.  So many times I hear the whispers and lies that want to distract me and dismay me, and THIS should be my response – I am carrying on a great project and cannot go down.  Powerful, powerful stuff!

I am looking forward to 1 & 2 Peter!

One thought on “Happy Communiversary!

  1. Carry on Sister! Carry on! We had this discussion on another blog today and forgive me if you were there but just like church, whether you are preaching to one or 1,000 give it all you got! They deserve to hear it and God gave it to you! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

