Imagine

It’s “that” day again!  The day when hundreds of brave writers all over the globe come together to write freely and without condition – well, other than the 5 minute time limit.  No over editing, no polishing up – just you and your thoughts on the one word prompt.  Want to join us?  Head over to http://www.lisajobaker.com for all the details.

Image

“You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view – until you climb into his skin and walk around in it.”  So says Atticus Finch to his young daughter Scout in one of my very favorite books, To Kill A Mockingbird

I was in 7th grade when I read that book and that concept was a life-changer for me.  I wasn’t interested in anyone else’s point of view at that age – is any 12 year old?  But the idea that I could understand someone better by imagining myself in their skin was something I just couldn’t shake.  So I tried it.  I imagined myself in the skin of various classmates, and teachers, and neighbors.  I believe God used that little exercise to develop compassion in me and teach me to love people who seem to be so different from me, but really aren’t.

As an adult I find that imagining myself in someone else’s position keeps me from a lot of negative emotions because I can understand someone without having to agree with them.  If I see someone who seems to have more, do more, be more, than me, it helps to put myself in that person’s place – OK, let’s just say “her” because we all know I’m talking about women here – and remember that we ALL have problems, worries, temptations, etc.  Hers may be completely different concerns, but to her they loom just as huge as mine do in my own life. 

Time’s up but once again, I could go on on this subject for a long, long time.  Now let’s see what you’ve got.

3 thoughts on “Imagine

Leave a Reply

