After

Linking up with my FMF crew at http://lisajobaker.com/ .  Want to play?  Come on over!

START:

I’ve often thought life could be divided into before and after.  All of us have all these events in our lives that change us, that we can point to and say, “Before I was this, and After I am this.”

I’ve gotten the middle of the night phone call to tell me a loved one has gone to meet Jesus far too soon.

I’ve seen my marriage fall apart in the weight of one sentence from my husband.

I’ve seen dreams go up in smoke.

In all of those I could describe for you what was different about me, Before and After.

But…

I’ve seen the births and adoption of my children.

I’ve seen the love in the eyes of my now-husband, as we vow to love each other until death parts us.

I’ve felt the acceptance of a risen Savior wash me clean of all my sins.

In all those instances I can divide my life into before and after.  Before, I was one thing, but After I am

Mama

A cherished wife

Redeemed

I could go on all day, but you get the point.

And while Before matters, because it’s important to remember where we once were, After is now.  After is where we are once we’ve been changed, for better or worse.  And once you’ve been changed, you can’t undo it.  There’s no putting that genie back in the bottle.  What’s done is done.  But you can look back at your journey and see how far you’ve come.  And you can share your journey to encourage others to keep going.

STOP

3 thoughts on “After

  1. I am your neighbour at FMF today and wanted to let you know that I love how you put into words what you have written and what I believe to be so true! Thank you for this!

Leave a Reply

