Rest

Hooking up with my favorite word (and Word) – loving crowd at http://www.lisajobaker.com for Five Minute Friday.  Want to play along?  Click on the link above and join us!

START

Image

Mamas don’t get to rest.  Somehow that little detail gets overlooked in the flurry of gifts at the baby shower and the excitement of sharing in the creation of new life.  But as mamas-to-be near the end of their pregnancies, we start to get a glimpse of things to come when it gets hard to sleep at night.

Newborn babies supposedly sleep for the majority of the day, but none of mine ever did.  And the adage about “sleeping when the baby sleeps”?  Not an option for a go-getter like me. 

And while the kids are growing there is a myriad of things to be done, from keeping the house livable to assisting with homework to worrying about them whenever they are out of your sight.  Rest?  That was something you did before you had children!

And yet we are told – commanded – to do it by our own Father, in the Ten Commandments.  There is reference after reference in the Bible where God’s people are commanded to rest on the Sabbath and to keep it holy.

And then there is the “rest” that means “remainder”.  That, too, is something Mamas lack.  When we’re in the thick of childraising, there is nothing of us left over.  We’re totally engulfed in this business of loving our blessings into adulthood.

But then the days come when we are tapped out, we’ve reached the limits of our human strength, we just don’t have anything left to give…. and rest comes without our even seeking it.  When we fall down at His feet in surrender and admit that we CAN’T.  We can’t do one more thing, fight one more battle over bedtime, wipe one more snotty nose, and He reminds us once again to be still and rest in the knowledge that HE is God, and we are not.  I’ve been there and although I struggle with admitting that I can’t do it all, the sweet release of surrendering to the One who can is powerful. 

STOP

4 thoughts on “Rest

  1. Oh how I know that feeling – thinking I can do it all and then realizing I can’t. My sweet Savior has to remind me once again to Be Still. Such a struggle. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  2. I so keep needing to remind myself that it’s ok that I can’t – because He can! Thanks for the encouragement to boldly say ‘I can’t’ today and call on His rest! Blessings x

  3. As I am nearing the end of my 4th pregnancy, I can completely relate to your words!!! One thing I am learning is that this lack of rest- this inability to do it all is exactly what God desires for us! He wants us to rely on Him- after all that is when He gets the glory. Learning to see the lack of rest as His blessing and learning to accept His rest!
    It was great to “meet” you at the FMF Party- I’m “ohappydaye” 🙂

  4. I came in from the allume newbies group and wanted to say hi! 🙂

    This is such a good reminder! I use my many responsibilities as an excuse not to rest…(and feel guilty when I do!)

Leave a Reply

