Dive

It’s Five Minute Friday!  Want to know how Five Minute Friday got started? All the details are here.

Here we go:

I couldn’t have told you exactly how I came to be standing at the top of the highest diving board at the public swimming pool.  It probably had to do with a dare (exactly the kind of thing you tell your kids NOT to do).  However I got there, it was abundantly clear that there was nowhere to go but down, and it would have to be into the water because my youthful pride would not allow me to go back down the ladder.  It was 1977 and I was 12 years old.  I was wearing my yellow swimdress, chosen because it could hide a multitude of body flaws, not for its sleekness and ability to stay in place when its wearer hits the water’s surface at a high rate of speed. 

Somehow I willed myself to step off that diving board and let me tell you, it seemed like forever before I hit the water, or should I say the water hit me?  Who knew the water could spank like that?  Down, down, down I went, as I mentally checked myself over to make sure all body parts were there and accounted for.  They were, and some of them were screaming with embarrassment because they were exposed where they should have been covered.  Still drifting down, I rearranged my swimsuit to a more modest location, as I pondered the best way to get back to the surface.  I could float and eventually I’d get there, but I’d get there faster if I put some effort into it.  Kicking and paddling, I rose to the surface, flailed my way to the ladder at the side of the pool and climbed out. 

I’m sure there’s a lesson in there somewhere.  Don’t fall for dares?  Wear tougher swimwear if you’re going to go off the high dive?  But frankly, this is the first thing I thought of when I read today’s prompt.  🙂 

One thought on “Dive

  1. You never forget that first jump off a high dive, do you? I think mine was about 3 years after that when I was 9 or 10. Love that you just went with the first thing. You brought back some fun memories for me this morning. Thanks so much linky neighbor. Have a terribly blessed day!

Leave a Reply

