Opportunity

Five Minute Friday, oh how I’ve missed you!  Want to know how Five Minute Friday got started and how to participate? All the details are here.

Image

*start*

It’s there, and then it’s gone.  Just when I think I’ve carved out 5, 10, 15 minutes of me-time to do something a little bit constructive, I look up and the opportunity has passed me by before I even got a chance to make something of it.  And so I get up from my me-haven to wipe a nose, make a sandwich, break up a sister-fight.  (Even while I was writing *this* I had to stop for a moment and take care of some kid business)

My shoulders sag at the thought of the opportunity lost.  What if this was THE time that I was actually going to get started on something important?  What if the post I didn’t write in those moments was the one post that somebody somewhere needed to read?  The thoughts chase each other around my brain like my cat chases its tail sometimes.

But then…. I look up and realize that it’s quiet in the house.  The children are busy playing nicely with each other.  Nothing is demanding my attention at this time.  And I realize that some opportunities don’t just knock once – they can come back again and again.  If you’re not home or available, it’s not always the end of the world.  There will be another opportunity.  That’s what keeps me going, because if I had to depend on creatively striking during that one elusive open opportunity, I would be overwhelmed with the importance of it all.  But as it is, I know that even if I can’t get to the computer I can make a note on my phone to remind me of the train of thought I was riding.  And the next time the opportunity arises, I’ll be ready.

*stop*

7 thoughts on “Opportunity

  1. Oh a great post. I know what you mean. My interuptions are the cat wanting out and the dog letting me know! Your Blessed to have wee (or almost wee) ones still with you. Enjoy that time as hard as it seems at times! Thank you for coming by and visiting at My Journey. I am looking forward to my opportunity and what God has in stored. You Blessed me by your visit! Thanks.
    Have a good weekend.
    Sherry

  2. I SOOO know what you are talking about…my 5 minutes were interrupted as well!! Dropping by from Lisa Jo’s…I hear ya sister, and it’s a good reminder…the opportunity will come back around if it is what God wants…blessings!

  3. Yep…I was interrupted too. Can’t even get 5 minutes, sometimes! But, I was gently reminded by my own writing (of course!) that THOSE are my opportunities to love my people. And yes, let us pray for more of them to come around!

  4. I appreciated the reminder that some opportunities can happen more than once. I feel as if I waste so many opportunities, I need to remember God’s grace. Beautifully written esp. since you had to play referee!

  5. Oh how I know how you feel! My days seem like they’re full of missed opportunities sometimes! Loved your insight that even though some are missed, there are more just around the corner! Thanks!

  6. Thanks for commenting on my blog post…that way I discovered YOUR blog 🙂
    yes…opportunities sometimes knock more than once…and sometimes the opportunities are found in the “interruptions” (much as I don’t like to see that possibility sometimes!)

Leave a Reply

