Quiet

Quiet.  It’s a rare commodity around my house.  With two girls ages 11 and 8, there is always a voice or a tune, or the thumping of feet filling the air.  I long for quiet, and yet when I have it, it’s….disquieting.  It sets me on edge and I look for something to fill the silence:  TV, radio, my own voice on the telephone.  If it’s quiet and the kids are home, it makes me suspicious and wary, thinking that they’re doing something they shouldn’t.

The first voice that popped into my head when I read this week’s prompt was, “Be still and know that I am God”.  Be still – body and mind and soul – and listen, and you will realize that I alone am your God.  How hard it is to be still!  There is a continuous whirl of activity going on around us, and I do mean continuous.    It used to be that you could find some quiet in the wee hours of the night, but not anymore, with the 24-hour department stores and fast food joints.  There is no longer one block of time when you can count on life, if not stopping, at least slowing down considerably.

And there’s another angle that comes to my mind when I think of quiet, and that’s peace.  As in “peace and quiet”.  The two seem to go hand in hand.  So maybe the next time a chunk of quiet comes my way, I’ll try to use that time to be still and know, and I’ll bet that in the knowing, there will come the peace.

One thought on “Quiet

Leave a Reply

