Roots

Five Minute Friday!  Want to play?  Click here:  www.lisajobaker.com.

The pictures are old and faded now, but I can still make out the impatient face of the little girl in front of all her grandmothers, her hands held tightly by her mother to thwart her escape.  In one picture all five are standing straight, smiles firmly in place.  In the second one the little girl is a blur, bouncing up and down in a futile attempt at freedom.  And finally in the third one, the group is moving apart, hands over mouths in laughter as they break photograph formation.

The little girl in this picture is me, and the other four ladies are my mother, grandmother, great-grandmother and great-great grandmother.  Our family has five generations of women living and we have for at least three generations.  In the most recent picture I am the one in the middle – the grandmother.

These ladies in the old pictures?  I am an offshoot of them, and my future is firmly rooted in their history.   I grew up geographically near my relatives and it was always clear what my family stood for and where I came from.  Now that I am 3 hours away from my relatives, I wonder what kind of roots I’m giving my kids.  Having grown one to adulthood already, I can see some evidence that maybe I’ve taught her something of worth.   Ultimately it’s not our relationship with our earthly family that makes us who we are, it’s our relationship with our Heavenly Father.

7 thoughts on “Roots

  1. I love how you wrote:
    “Ultimately it’s not our relationship with our earthly family that makes us who we are, it’s our relationship with our Heavenly Father.”

    How true your words really are. It reminds me that we will get to spend eternity together with family too.

    Blessings and love,
    Debbie

  2. Love this! I am 3 hours from my family too and I wonder the same things about my children and grandbaby…are they connected enough to their grandparents? This also reminds me that this Thanksgiving I need to have a few pictures taken of grandbaby, daughter, me and my mother. Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

