Voice

It’s Five Minute Friday!  Wanna play?  Click here: http://lisajobaker.com/ .

Aaaaand…. here we go.

It was 1992, and I didn’t know who I was.  After being part of a duet for so long, I couldn’t remember what it was like to go solo.  Seriously, I couldn’t remember what kind of music I liked or what television shows I enjoyed because I had so long immersed myself in my husband’s needs, choices, preferences.  I had to take the time to think before I turned on the radio or TV:  what do I want to hear or watch?

This is part of my story.  Everyone has one, if we just take the time to listen.  Or read.  J  All of the people doing this Five Minute Friday exercise?  We all have a story, a voice that is whispering, or screaming, or somewhere in between: “Hey!  I’m over here, and I have something to say.”  I remember a morning news show that once did a series where they blindly picked a city off a map, then blindly chose a name from the telephone book and asked that person if they could tell their story.  It was fascinating the things you could learn about what seemed to be ordinary people.  I wonder what we could learn if we just asked one person we know to tell us their story.

We writers, we don’t have to wait for someone to give us permission to speak, to use our unique voice.  We can tell our stories, we can SPEAK, whether one person hears us or a million people do.  There might be someone out there who needs to hear our perspective, our voice, so they will have the courage to raise their own voice and tell THEIR story.  Use your voice – tell your story.

Time’s up!

4 thoughts on “Voice

Leave a Reply

