Look

Five Minute Friday!  Whoop, whoop!

Want to play?  Click here:  http://lisajobaker.com/five-minute-friday/

I see her eyes light up as she spots them:  a pair of green heels high enough to cause a nosebleed, covered with what seems to be a pound of emerald green glitter.  “Can I try them on?” and she does, and then she wobbles over to check herself out in the mirror and strike a pose for my approval.  My sweet girl, at the tender age of 11, is searching for her “look” and I am her hovering mother, torn between cheering her on and putting on the brakes.

I’ve done this once already with a girl now grown and with a girl of her own to guide, but somehow this child is more delicate, more easily wilted with a cross word or glance.

And so I try to impart some wisdom along the way:  the world looks at the outward appearance, but God, He looks at the inside; and charm is deceptive and beauty is fleeting, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised; and pretty is as pretty does… But I wonder, does any of it stick?  She is fascinated by the outrageousness of Lady Gaga, and I try to lead her toward the dresses and cowboys boots of Taylor Swift.  In a world where skin is in and nothing much stays hidden, how do I convince her that there needs to be some mystery?  Her clothes don’t need to scream, “Look at me!” because the people that truly matter, we already SEE her.

I run my eyes over the length of her – when did she get to be so tall?  And she truly is beautiful, both her sweet countenance and her loving heart, and I know I can’t take credit for all of that beauty.  And then comes the next question:  how do I guard her loveliness from the world?  And that, my friends, is a whole other blog post…..

2 thoughts on “Look

  1. Loved this! Yes, how indeed, do we guard their hearts? Sometimes, I feel like the “wisdom” I’m trying to impart to my sweetgirl is some of the same wisdom I still need to hear, too. Stopping by from 5 Minute Friday. Great post for us mamas of girls!

Leave a Reply

