Race

Five Minute Friday!  Whoop!  Whoop!

How to Join:

Want to know how Five Minute Friday got started and how to participate? All the details are here.

Now, set your timer, clear your head, for five minutes to just write without worrying if it’s just right or not.


Here goes:

Some days you just can’t win.  I know in my heart that life is not a race but I sure don’t live it that way.  I know that the race doesn’t always go to the swift but to those who endure.  Hey, I’ve read the fable of the tortoise and the hare, and let me tell you that the tortoise is soooo not me!

So I race to get myself and the kids ready for work and school, respectively.  Then I race to work, race to get my errands done before the kids get home from school.  Race from one activity to the next.  And in all the running around, I forget to live.  What to do, what to do?

The world tells me I need to do it all, but the Father tells me to “Be still and know that I am God”.  The world says “Go, go, go” and my Father says, “Sit for a while with me”.  And I learn that sitting is not necessarily sloth, and that I don’t have to meet the world’s standards.  This is a lesson I must learn over and over again, as I get caught up in the racing and forget to do the living.  Racing around is not living – it’s being a hamster on a wheel, spending all its energy and getting nowhere.  I need to be more conscious of making my moments count instead of speeding through them.

Time’s up, but this is apparently a topic that resonates with me….

3 thoughts on “Race

Leave a Reply

