Wide (Five Minute Friday)

“And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love,may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ….  Ephesians 3:17b-18

I stand on the balcony of our lovely temporary home (read:  vacation rental) and gaze on the vastness of the ocean before me.   Whenever I plan a beach vacation I’m always imagining myself using that time to rest and reflect on the “bigness” of God and His majesty.  I picture myself sitting on the beach in peaceful contemplation of God’s power, as evidenced by His creation.  The reality is that I rarely get a peaceful moment on vacation and when I do, I sadly don’t usually use it in contemplation of God’s glory.  More than likely I am engrossed in that book I just HAVE to finish because I’m dying to know how it ends.

But when I finally take the time to look out at the ocean I’m reminded of two verses in the Bible:  The one above that talks about how vast God’s love for us is, and the one that tells us He throws our sins as far as the East is from the West.  That’s wide, people.  Just like when I stand on the shore and try to wrap my mind around the size of the ocean, the vastness and the wideness of God’s love is more than I can ever imagine.

Wide.  Stretched to the limits, especially horizontally, like the wideness of a smile or arms opened wide.  I imagine God’s heart opened wide to us, stretched to the limit, and since God has no limits, that must mean it stretches to infinity, and once again it’s more than my human brain can fathom.

3 thoughts on “Wide (Five Minute Friday)

  1. Love the idea of wide as a smile. We don’t always think of God’s grace and forgiveness with that image but He does delight in giving us that grace and forgiveness. Thanks for sharing.

  2. WOW!!!
    God certainly works in mysteries!
    I used both of the scriptural concepts you used in your post! Two different situations … same perspective.
    Glad to meet you here at 5MF!
    Blessings.

Leave a Reply

